NHGoldApple.org Home

Learn more about the award programs:

Teacher of the Year

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

The Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards

The New Hampshire Excellence in Education Awards

No Child Left Behind -- Blue Ribbon Schools Program


The Awards

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

"America's continuing success in the international technological revolution depends heavily upon building our strength in mathematics and science education. The teachers we honor here are educating those who will lead this country--and the world--in creating, developing, and putting to work new ideas and new technologies."

Rita Colwell, NSF director.

The Award:
The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Program was established in 1983 by The White House and is sponsored by the National Science Foundation (NSF). The program identifies outstanding mathematics and science teachers, kindergarten through 12th grade, in each state and the four U.S. jurisdictions. These teachers will serve as models for their colleagues and will be leaders in the improvement of science and mathematics education. Nominations for this award come from the teachers' colleagues, administrators, students, parents of students, and other community members.

Each year, after an initial selection process at the state or territorial level, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends teachers to receive a Presidential Award - the competition alternates each year between teachers of grades K-6 and teachers of grades 7-12 from each jurisdiction.

The PAEMST Awardees are announced in April. Each Awardee is invited to attend, along with a guest, recognition events in Washington, D.C. These events include an award ceremony, a Presidential Citation, meetings with leaders in government and education, sessions to share ideas and teaching experiences, and receptions and banquets to honor recipients. Each Presidential Awardee will also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

These awards provide recognition to exceptional teachers who are furthering excellence in education. This program acknowledges educators who are models in both their classrooms and in their communities. And, this award provides positive examples for pupils and peers alike. The teachers receiving these awards are recognized for greatly improving their students' understanding in science and mathematics, for exemplary teaching, and for demonstrating educational goals that help them maintain positions of professional leadership.

How to Apply:
Curriculum supervisors, department chairs, principals, and teachers can download the nomination form by clicking on the Nomination form link. The application form can be downloaded by clicking on the Application form link.

Deadline was:
May 2018 - grades K-6


Donna Dubey - Mathematics
Phone: (603) 271-3759
E-Mail: Donna.Dubey@doe.nh.gov